Home  |  History  |  People  |  Departments  |  Buildings  |  Bibliography  |  Contact Us
  1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999
Smoke-free Medical School
January 1, 1990
Medical School Goes Smoke-Free

On January 1, 1990, the four buildings that comprise the School of Medicine, buildings A, B, C, and D, became smoke-free. This decision was made in light of the growing awareness of the health hazards linked directly to smoking. This policy did not apply to the LSU Hospital.
Muslow named Acting Dean
  September 1, 1990
Ike Muslow, M.D. Named Acting Dean

When Medical School Dean Darryl M. Williams resigned his post, Dr. Ike Muslow was appointed Acting Dean while a national search was conducted. Muslow, who was the current Vice Chancellor, had previously served as Dean of the Shreveport Medical School from 1975 to 1981. He served as Acting Dean until August 9, 1992.
LSU Hospital #1
  December 23, 1991
LSU Hospital - Most Profitable Public Hospital in the U.S.

According to a study published in the December 23, 1991 issue of Modern Healthcare, the LSU Hospital in Shreveport was the most profitable public hospital in the United States. The article cited figures developed by Health Care Investment Analysts of Baltimore, Maryland after examination of 91 individual hospital members of the National Association of Public Hospitals. The Shreveport facility was an acknowledged leader among state hospitals in Louisiana for both clinical and administrative excellence.
LSUMC trauma team in action
  December 1991
LSUMC is Louisiana's First Level I Trauma Center

In December 1991, the LSU Medical Center received verification from the American College of Surgeons (ACS) as the first Level I Trauma Center in Louisiana. One month later, the Center became the first state-licensed Level I Trauma Center in Louisiana. The verification process is a confirmation that local trauma services meet the strict national standards developed by the American College of Surgeons. Among the requirements for a Level I trauma center are the  around-the-clock, in-hospital presence of a multidisciplinary team including emergency room physicians, nurses, trauma surgeons, anesthesiologists, orthopedic surgeons, operating room teams, radiologic technologists, blood bank personnel, laboratory personnel, respiratory therapists and social service personnel ready to respond as soon as needed. In addition, the institution must conduct both research and community education. In March 2006, the Center received additional verification as a Level I Pediatric Trauma Center.
Otterson named Acting Dean
  August 10, 1992
Warren N. Otterson, M.D. Named Acting Dean

Dr. Warren N. Otterson, Professor and Head of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the LSU Medical Center, was named Acting Dean of the Shreveport Medical School on August 10, 1992. He served in that capacity until March 18, 1993, when he expressed an interest in resuming his duties in the Obstetrics and Gynecology Department.
Freeman named Acting Dean
  March 19, 1993
Arthur Merrimon Freeman, III, M.D. Named Acting Dean

When Acting Dean Warren Otterson returned to the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Dr. Arthur M. Freeman, III assumed the duties of Acting Dean. Dr. Freeman joined the faculty of the LSU Medical Center in 1992 as Professor and Head of the Department of Psychiatry. Freeman served as Acting Dean for three months before being named Dean in July 1993, a position he held until December 31, 1995.
Biomedical Research Institute
  February 18, 1994
Biomedical Research Institute Formally Dedicated

The dedication ceremony held on February 18, 1994 was the culmination of a dream that was six years in the making. The ten-story, 160,000 square foot Biomedical Research Institute, which occupies a 1.23 acre tract of land adjacent to the LSU Medical Center on Kings Highway, was financed through a $48 million public-private partnership. Eight floors of the new facility housed core research laboratories, with a PET imaging center and cyclotron on the ground floor. Three main areas of research concentration were cardiovascular diseases, neurobiology and molecular biology. The project’s most vocal and visible proponent was Virginia K. Shehee, president of the Biomedical Research Foundation of Northwest Louisiana. Keynote speaker for the dedication was U.S. Senator J. Bennett Johnston, Jr., who spearheaded the federal funding efforts. A rededication ceremony on October 23, 1996 celebrated the Institute’s new name - Virginia K. Shehee Biomedical Research Institute.
Department of Neurosurgery
  September 1995
Neurosurgery Department Established at LSUMC-S

From 1968 to 1995, Neurosurgery was a Division within the Department of Surgery at the LSU Medical Center in Shreveport. The Division grew over the years though the efforts of Dr. Heinz Faludi; Dr. Frederick Boykin; Dr. Loyd C. Megison, Jr.; Dr. John Lucas; Dr. Edward Benzel and Dr. Donald Smith. Dr. Anil Nanda joined the faculty in 1990 as Division Head and by 1995, the Division had expanded and was given departmental status. Dr. Nanda, who serves as the founding chairman of the department, has brought international recognition to the Health Sciences Center. In February 2002, a neurosurgery residency program was established at the LSU Health Sciences Center in Shreveport.
Ike Muslow, M.D.
  January 1, 1996
Ike Muslow, M.D. Named Dean

After serving as Dean from 1975 through 1981 and Acting Dean from 1990 through 1992, Vice-Chancellor Ike Muslow was called upon once again to lead the LSU School of Medicine in Shreveport as its Dean on January 1, 1996. Muslow capably performed this dual role until his retirement on June 30, 2000.
LSUHS Foundation
  November 21, 1997
LSUHS Foundation Established

While serving as Dean of the LSU Medical Center, Ike Muslow, M.D., recognized the importance of a fundraising organization dedicated to enriching the programs of the Medical Center. To that end, in 1997, Muslow asked Donald J. Zadeck to become the first chairman of the LSU Health Sciences Foundation Board of Directors. This Foundation is a non-profit, institutionally-related foundation whose sole mission is to support, enhance and assist the LSU Health Sciences Center in its many endeavors.
Mayor Cedric Glover reads to children
  January 1999
Reach Out and Read Program Established at LSU Medical Center

January 1999 saw the start of the Reach Out and Read program at the LSU Medical Center. The local program, patterned after the national Reach Out and Read initiative, was started by three LSUMC groups - the Faculty Women’s Club, the Pediatrics Department, and medical librarians. The mission of Reach Out and Read is to make literacy promotion a standard part of pediatric primary care, so that children grow up with books and a love of reading. This mission is carried out locally by volunteers who read stories to children in the pediatric clinic waiting room. In addition, each child is given a book to take home. More information on this program can be found here.
The final name change
  July 2, 1999
Another Name Change

Act 802 of the 1999 Legislature, signed into law on July 2, 1999, stipulated that the name of the Louisiana State University Medical Center would be changed to the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center.